20 years of the Eighth

Watch video

NEWS | 05/24/2020

On May 24, 2000, Real Madrid defeated Valencia in the first Spanish final of the European Cup.

The Saint Denis stadium (Paris) was the scene of the eighth European Cup of the Real Madrid. The white club increased its legend after defeating Valencia in the first Spanish final of the competition. That May 24, 2000, the Madrid fans signed a fabulous meeting, in which Morientes He opened the scoreboard up before the break. McManaman, with an acrobatic finish, and Raul, who thus signed their tenth goal in that edition, were the other Real Madrid scorers.

The Real Madrid returned to lift the maximum continental title in Paris, the city where his European legend began after the first final in 1956. On the way to the French capital, the Madridistas faced Oporto, Olympiacos and Molde in the first Group Stage, and Bayern Munich, Dinamo Kiev and Rosenborg in the second. In the quarterfinals the remembered move by Round at Old Trafford, in which the Argentine dribbled with a heel and later attended Raul to beat Manchester United. In the semifinal against Bayern Munich, Anelka He was the key man scoring in the first and second leg.

Spanish finals

The Real Madrid he would also win the next two. Both were against Atlético and the first one also took place on May 24 but 2014 (the Tenth, in Lisbon). The last one was Eleventh in Milan.


3- Real Madrid: Casillas, Míchel Salgado (Hierro, 85 ’), Iván Campo, Helguera, Karanka, Roberto Carlos, McManaman, Redondo, Raúl, Anelka (Sanchís, 80’) and Morientes (Savio, 72 ’).

0- Valencia: Cañizares, Angloma, Djukic, Pellegrino, Gerardo (Ilie, 69 ’), Mendieta, Farinós, Gerard, Kily González, Angulo and Claudio López.

1-0 (min. 38): Morientes.
2-0 (min. 66): McManaman.
3-0 (min. 74): Raúl.

Referee: Stefano Braschi (Italy).
Stadium: Saint Denis (Paris).

Source link