Academician José Manuel Blecua joins the Jury

Barcelona, ​​October 2, 2020

The sixty-ninth edition of the award has once again had a high participation: they have been presented 582 novels. This figure denotes the interest that the award arouses in the field of literature in Spain and Latin America.

This year's Planeta Award will be held on Tuesday October 15 at the Palau de la Música Catalana, from Barcelona, ​​with an intimate ceremony and in a format necessarily different from the usual one.

The award jury is made up of Jose Manuel Blecua, Fernando Delgado, Juan Eslava Galán, Pere Gimferrer, Carmen Posadas, Rosa Regàs Y Belén López, director of Editorial Planeta and secretary of the Jury with vote.

The incorporation to the Jury stands out José Manuel Blecua Partridges, Spanish philologist born in Zaragoza in 1939 and son of the also philologist José Manuel Blecua Teijeiro. He has been vice-rector of the UAB and is emeritus professor of Spanish Language at this university. He has directed the General dictionary of synonyms and antonyms (1999) and has carried out numerous lexicographical and historiographical works.

José Manuel Blecua is also the author (along with Juan Alcina Franch) of the renowned Spanish grammar (Ariel, 1979). In 2003 he was elected a member of the Royal Spanish Academy, an institution in which he occupies the h chair and of which he was director from 2010 to 2014.

José Manuel Blecua joins the Jury as a new member in his brother's place Alberto Blecua placeholder image, passed away last january. Alberto Blecua was a doctor in Romance Philology, professor of Spanish Philology at the UAB since 1970 and emeritus professor at this university. Leading Spanish specialist in the Golden Age, he published essays and critical editions on the work of authors such as Garcilaso, Lope de Vega, Cervantes, Góngora, Quevedo or Calderón, among many others. Alberto Blecua was a member of the Planeta Award Jury for 30 years (from 1990 to the last 2019 edition).

The Planeta Prize is endowed with 601,000 euros for the winning work and 150,250 euros for the finalist.

The origin of the novels received is very diverse. In addition to Spain, South America (101 works), North America (53), Central America (10) and the rest of Europe (16) stand out.

Originals have been received from:

Central America 10

Costa Rica 3

Cuba 5

El Salvador 1

Puerto Rico 1

North America 53

Canada 4

USA 13

Mexico 36

South America 101

Argentina 37

Bolivia 1

Chile 5

Colombia 30

Ecuador 5

Peru 5

Uruguay 7

Venezuela 2

Asia 4

Israel 4

Europe (except Spain) 16

Germany 1

Austria 1

France 3

Italy 3

UK 3

Belgium 3

Netherlands 1

Denmark 1

Spain 301

A Coruña 4

Albacete 2

Alicante 21

Almeria 1

Asturias 3

Badajoz 3

Balears 9

Barcelona 37

Bizkaia 6

Cáceres 2

Cadiz 6

Cantabria 1

Castellon 4

Ciudad Real 1

Cordoba 3

Basin 1

Gipuzkoa 4

Girona 4

Granada 6

Guadalajara 1

Huesca 1

Huelva 3

La Rioja 1

Las Palmas 7

Lion 3

Lleida 2

Madrid 74

Malaga 17

Murcia 12

Navarra 3

Ourense 2

Palencia 1

Pontevedra 4

Salamanca 1

Tarragona 4

Tenerife 6

Teruel 1

Toledo 6

Valencia 20

Valladolid 1

Zamora 1

Zaragoza 12

They do not specify its origin 97

Source of the new

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *