Ana Zamora will direct the XXII Max Awards gala

The actor Fernando Cayo will present the gala on Monday May 20 at the Teatro Calderón in Valladolid

It is the first time that Castilla y León hosts the ceremony

The theater director Ana Zamora (Segovia, 1975) will be in charge of directing the gala of the XXII edition of the Max Performing Arts Awards organized by the SGAE Foundation, with the collaboration of the City Council of Valladolid, the Foundation of Universities and Higher Education of the Junta de Castilla y León. The ceremony, which will be held on May 20, at 8:00 pm, at the Calderón Theater in Valladolid, will be broadcast live by La 2 de Televisión Española (TVE).

The actor Fernando Cayo (Valladolid, 1968) will act as master of a ceremony that this year pivots on freedom. "We have given a lot of thought to this concept, which is something very difficult to define. We have chosen freedom from a double perspective: as a right of the creator and as an obligation linked to its responsibility to build a better society, "explains Ana Zamora.

In practice, the gala aims to adapt the theory of freedom of Granada poet Luis Rosales to the parameters of the theatrical performance, transited by texts of the Baroque theater and there will be space for nature and popular party. "It's an unconventional gala. It will be a journey from the traditional to the contemporary: freedom can not be understood without past, present and future, "says the director.

This is the first time that the ceremony of the Max Awards, traveling awards, has been held in Castilla y León. For that reason, its characteristic landscape will have a special meaning in the staging. "We have tried to work with Castilian references, but with our feet on the ground. This is a land that seems never to be fashionable. I think it is interesting to revisit aspects that mix tradition and modernity. And ours is a land where past and present dialogue to the problem. The gala will go through a holiday: we have focused on the Castilian field, yes, but there will also be sequins and show, "stresses Zamora.

Concha Velasco will collect the Max de Honor in her city

In addition to the 19 contest categories, throughout the gala will be awarded three special prizes: the Max Amateur or Social Character, the Special Max of the Public and the Max of Honor, which, as the past was made public week, he has returned to Concha Velasco. The actress, who will pick up the award that recognizes her entire career on stage in her city, Valladolid, is "very excited and with enormous respect for what the award means".

About Ana Zamora

Titled Superior in Direction of Scene and Dramaturgy (RESAD), in 2001 he founded Nao d'amores, with which he develops a fundamental research and training for the staging of the Pre-Baroque Theater, and with which he has released 12 shows and obtained numerous awards and nominations (José Luis Alonso Award 2001, ADE Management Award 2008, Ojo Critical Theater Award 2008). He has directed for the National Company of Classical Theater, Teatro de la Zarzuela, National Drama Center, participated in innumerable seminars and congresses, and has given training workshops in Spain and abroad. It is Corresponding Academic by the Royal Academy of History and Art of San Quirce.

About the Max Awards

Organized by the SGAE Foundation since 1998, the Max Awards, whose prize is designed by the poet and artist Joan Brossa (Barcelona-1919/1998), promoter of one of the renewing collectives of post-war Spanish art, have been consolidated as over these years as the broadest recognition in the field of Performing Arts in the Spanish State.

The Organizing Committee of the 22nd edition of the Max Performing Arts Awards is composed of Ana Graciani, president of the SGAE Foundation, Pilar Jurado, president of SGAE, the playwrights Juan Luis Mira, Paloma Pedrero and Óscar Castaño 'Garbitxu' (president of the Territorial Committee of SGAE in Euskadi) and the members of the School of Great Right of the SGAE Eduardo Galán, Yolanda García Serrano and the choreographer María Pagés.

(tagsToTranslate) Max Awards

Source of the new