The prize, awarded by the Ministry of Culture and Sports, is endowed with 20,000 euros.

The jury has chosen this work "for meeting all the requirements of excellence in a work of history: historiographic and methodological novelty, plurality of sources and a scientific and rigorous approach to the biographical study of a character not yet sufficiently known but important in the history of Spain".


Ana María Caballé Masforroll (Hospitalet de Llobregat, 1954) is a full professor of Spanish Literature at the University of Barcelona, ​​and author of more than a dozen works related to her specialty, the analysis of auto / biographical literature and a hundred articles in specialized magazines and collective works. Its titles include: Life and work of Paulino Masip (1998); Ink daffodils Essay on autobiography in Spanish language (1995); Francisco Umbral. The cold of a life (2004); Life written by women, 4 vols. (2003, 2004); Five conversations with Carlos Castilla del Pino (2005); A brief history of misogyny (2006); Carmen Laforet, a woman on the run, in collaboration with Israel Rolón, Gaziel Memory Prize in 2009; Feminism in Spain. The long conquest of a right (2013); Why Spain? Memories of American Hispanicism, in collaboration with Randolph Pope (2014); Or, I spent the morning writing. Poetics of Spanish diarism, Manuel Alvar Prize for Humanistic Studies 2015.

She has been a visiting professor at Wszechnica Polska (Warsaw), University of Virginia (United States) and Pontifical University of Rio Grande do Sul (PUCRS, Brazil). She was also editor of the magazine Memoria. Journal of Biographical Studies between 1996 and 2007, published by the Servei de Publicacions of the University of Barcelona. She is currently the president of the Classic and Modern association.


The jury has been chaired by Carlos Alberdi Alonso, director of the Cabinet of the Minister of Culture and Sports and as vice president Begoña Cerro Prada, deputy director general for the Promotion of Spanish Books, Reading and Letters. They have acted as members: Francisco Javier Puerto Sarmiento, for the Royal Academy of History; Esperanza Navarrete Martínez, for the Royal Academy of Fine Arts of San Fernando; Pedro Cerezo Galán, by the Royal Academy of Moral and Political Sciences; Isabel Martínez Navas, by the Royal Academy of Jurisprudence and Legislation; Roberto Fernández Díaz, for the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE); María del Carmen del Riego de Lucas, by the Federation of Associations of Journalists of Spain (FAPE); María Dolores Elizalde Pérez-Grueso, by the Institute of History of the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC); Teresa María Ortega López, for the Association of Contemporary History (AHC) of the Autonomous University of Madrid; Manuel Peña Díaz, for the Center for Political and Constitutional Studies (CEPC); and Gloria Ángeles Franco Rubio, by the Feminist Research Institute of the Complutense University of Madrid.

Source of new