Courtois wins the Zamora Trophy

Watch video

NEWS | 07/19/2020 | Rodrigo Salamanca

The Madrid goalkeeper closes the League with 20 goals conceded in 34 games and a coefficient of 0.59.

Thibaut Courtois close the League winning the Zamora Trophy, which rewards the least goalscored goalkeeper of the championship. The goalkeeper, one of the keys to the Madrid title, has conceded 20 goals in the 34 league games he has played, which gives him the best ratio (0.59), ahead of Oblak and Unai Simón.

The Belgian goalkeeper, who finished unbeaten in 18 games League, joins the historical list of madridistas who won the Zamora Trophy, which leads Vicente (3). Then they come, with two, Zamora, Betancort and Buyo. And with one they are: Casillas, Agustín, Miguel Ángel, Junquera, Araquistáin, Juan Alonso and Bañón.

Courtois arrived at Real Madrid in the summer of 2018 as the best goalkeeper of the World Cup in Russia. Since then, he has played 77 matches for the team, with which he has won a Club World Cup, a League and one Spain Supercup. This is the third time that Courtois wins the Zamora, after achieving it in the 2012/13 and 2013/14 seasons.

Source link