The European Commission announces the first 17 'European Universities', which will have a funding of 85 million euros. The universities of Granada, Barcelona and Cádiz will coordinate their alliances, formed by several universities from different countries.

The European Commission has announced that eleven Spanish universities have been selected to be part of the first 17 'European Universities'. The universities of Granada, Barcelona and Cádiz will act as coordinators of their alliances, each of which is made up of several universities from different countries of the European Union. In total, these 17 'European Universities' will have a budget of 85 million euros for the next three years (5 million per alliance) to start implementing their plans.

The selected Spanish universities have been: Complutense University of Madrid, which is part of UNA Europe; the University of Granada, which coordinates the Arques European University Alliance; the University of Barcelona, which coordinates the Charm European University, the Autonomous University of Madrid, which is part of CIVIS; the Catholic University of Valencia San Vicente Mártir Foundation, part of the European University for Smart Urban Coastal Sustainability; the Autonomous University of Barcelona, part of ECIU University; the Pompeu Fabra University, which is part of the European Universities Transforming to an Open, Inclusive Academy for 2050; the University of Valencia, part of Fostering Outreach within European Regions, Transnational Higher Education and Mobility; the Cadiz University, which coordinates The European University of the Seas; the Polytechnic University of Catalonia, part of the University Network for Innovation, Technology and Engineering, and the Carlos III University of Madrid, which is part of the Young Universities for the Future of Europe.

Mobility between universities is one of the main advantages of these alliances. The students of these universities will be able to change the country throughout the degree without having to go through the validation, the professors and researchers will be able to move between the universities that make up the alliance and even the exchange of administration personnel will be encouraged.

A total of 114 institutions of Higher Education have been selected to form the 17 alliances, for which 64.7% of the projects have a Spanish university.

Source of new