a) Residents of the European Union or Schengen Associated States, who go directly to their place of residence.

b) Holders of a long-term visa issued by a Member State or Schengen Associated State who apply to it.

c) Cross-border workers.

d) Healthcare or elderly care professionals who go to carry out their work activity.

e) Personnel dedicated to the transport of goods, in the exercise of their work activity and the flight personnel necessary to carry out commercial air transport activities.

f) Diplomatic, consular, international organizations, military personnel and members of humanitarian organizations, in the exercise of their functions.

g) People traveling for imperative family reasons duly accredited.

h) Persons who document documentary reasons of force majeure or situation of need, or whose entry is permitted for humanitarian reasons.

The resolution, like the rest of the measures adopted under the Royal Decree of the state of Alarma, aims to protect the health and safety of citizens and contain the coronavirus, and is in accordance with the decision adopted by the members of the Council. European on March 17, they agreed to apply a temporary restriction on non-essential travel from third countries to the European Union and Schengen partner countries.

Period of validity

The order, signed by the Minister of the Interior, Fernando Grande-Marlaska, will take effect at midnight tonight (midnight between Sunday and Monday morning) and will have an initial validity of 30 days, "without prejudice, in its case, of the possible extensions that could be agreed ".

The order indicates that "the Spanish authorities will collaborate with transporters and foreign authorities so that the travel of those people who, in application of the same, will be denied entry at the external borders, is not allowed."

The order further specifies that this measure "shall not be applicable at the land border with Andorra or at the checkpoint for persons with the territory of Gibraltar, without prejudice to the possibility of carrying out police controls in its vicinity to verify compliance with the provided for in article 7 of Royal Decree 463/2020, of March 14 ", relating to the limitation of movements.

Ceuta and melilla

The order also agrees "the closure, on a temporary basis, of the land posts enabled for the entry and exit of Spain through the cities of Ceuta and Melilla".

Controls at the borders with France and Portugal

This order is in addition to the measure adopted last Monday, March 16 by which it was decided to reintroduce internal land border controls with Portugal and France. This measure came into force at 00:00 on Tuesday 17 and is a consequence of the application of Article 28 of the Schengen Borders Code, which allows the temporary reintroduction of internal border controls in situations such as the current one (for reasons of public order and public health ).

In these border controls at the borders with France and Portugal, only Spanish citizens are allowed to enter national territory by land; people residing in Spain; cross-border workers and those who prove, documentary, causes of force majeure or a situation of need.

The resolution issued on Monday stated that this restriction does not apply to the transport of merchandise "in order to ensure the continuity of economic activity and preserve the supply chain."

Source of new