The Smart Tourist Destinations Network has today incorporated the first international destinations – Tequila (Mexico) and Medellín (Colombia) – who will be able to participate in all the work sessions and meetings organized by the Network and who will have the category of regular observer members, due to the growing interest that the Smart Tourist Destinations program promoted by the Government of Spain is having around the world.

For the Minister of Industry, Commerce and Tourism, Reyes Maroto, “the participation of cities outside of Spain in the Network of Smart Tourist Destinations (DTI) is excellent news as it gives this network a greater international projection. The DTIs will play a prominent role in the process of transforming the tourism model towards a more digital, sustainable, accessible and safe tourism, and from the Government of Spain we will promote these destinations within the framework of the Modernization and Competitiveness Plan for the sector tourism that includes the roadmap for the recovery of tourism and will mobilize in the next three years more than 3,400 million euros of European funds ”.

Executive Committee DTI Network

Both Tequila and Medellín have been evaluated by the DTI methodology of the Secretary of State for Tourism, developed by SEGITTUR, which today has given the mayor of Medellín, Daniel Quintero, the distinction as the first Intelligent Tourist Destination in Colombia, after being evaluated in more of 400 requirements related to the five axes of the model.

For its part, the Executive Committee of the DTI Network, meeting today, has approved the incorporation of 34 new destinations, including the Group of World Heritage Cities of Spain, as well as all the cities that are part of it .

Among the destinations that have joined the DTI Network today include the municipalities of Alcudia, Antigua, Ávila, Baeza, Cangas de Narcea, Córdoba, Écija, Frigiliana, Guía de Isora, Guijuelo, Granada, Ibiza / Eivissa, La Adrada, La Oliva, Madrigal de la Altas Torres, Mérida, Mogán, Pájara, La Palma del Condado, San Cristóbal de La Laguna, Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Santiago de Compostela, Santiago del Teide, Segovia, Tarragona, Teguise, Tías, Úbeda; as well as the Cabildo Insular de La Palma; the Insullar Council of Menorca and the Diputación de Cáceres.

After the incorporation of these new destinations, the DTI Network is made up of 232 members, of which 153 are destinations, 43 are companies and 31 institutions.

During the Executive Committee, chaired by the Secretary of State for Tourism, Fernando Valdés, the work carried out throughout 2020 was reviewed, where the leading role that the Network of Smart Tourist Destinations has acquired has been highlighted, already which has become a meeting point, where experiences, concerns and initiatives have been shared.

In 2020, within the DTI Network, guides have been created to reactivate tourism in destinations, semantics manuals adapted to the times of COVID, a catalog of technological solutions and many other initiatives, whose objective has always been to boost the sector in such a difficult time.

Source of the new

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *